Starting Stage 2 of NROLFW!

Well, it took me 7 weeks, but I am one workout away from finally getting to start stage 2 in the strength training book I follow, The New Rules of Lifting for Women!

Okay, it may not seem like super groundbreaking news.  But hey, over the last six months, I’ve started and stopped Stage 1 about five different times.  And believe me, after all this time I am totally ready to move on from doing these same two routines over and over again.  I love you, NROL, but I’ve had about all I can take of the deadlift for now.

The final workout for stage 1 is the AMRAP (as many reps as possible) workout, a sort of lift-until-you-can-lift-no-more cage match between me and the weights.  I need to go through each exercise I’ve done so far, put on the amount of weight that I lifted the last time I did it, and see how long I can lift before something gives out. 🙂  I’m curious to see how many I can do!  One of the things I really like about following the workouts in this book is that Alwyn Cosgrove structures it so that as you progress through the stage, he asks you to do fewer and fewer reps (starting with 2 sets of 12 reps, then 3 sets of 10 reps, then 3 sets of 8 reps) with the assumption that you will pack on heavier weights to keep it challenging.  So now that I have reached the end of Stage 1, I can’t believe that I am able to squat with 75 pounds of weight on the barbell!  I can do it 8 times, but hey, that’s a lot more than I thought I would be able to lift.

              Working on the last set, making an actual weight lifting face.
So, assuming that I make it through the AMRAP hazing, I’m going to be happy to report back all the new and exciting things that Stage 2 holds for me!
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wendy on September 8, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Nice job, cuz. Keep it up!!!

    Reply

    • I’m trying to keep to going! I need to get more info on the 5k in October from you, it would be a good thing if I kept the running up so I don’t end up walking most of it 🙂

      Reply

  2. You didn’t have to crop out good bits in the photo.
    Love you my beautiful wife. Love that you’re doing so well and feeling better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

