That Bleh kind of feeling

Sometimes, things just don’t work out the way I think they should.  Normal fact of life, right?  Should have gotten used to it by now, I would think, I’ve been on the planet for 35 years.

And yet I still manage to get all riled up and discombobulated when things don’t go the way they should be going according to the movie playing in my head.  That’s a really sad statement, I know.  Can I blame it on the fact I was an only child until I was 16 and pretty much had the rule of the roost?  Hmmm.

I work part-time, and on those days my lovely husband (who works overnights) gets up after just a few hours of sleep to be with our young children until I get home.  For a few weeks now, he’s been letting me steal away from an extra hour after work to go running by myself – without children on bikes.  So I woke up at an unholy hour on my workday  to get all my gear together, make sure I didn’t forget to pack shoes and my sports bra, and give the kids hugs before I left.  Unfortunately (for me and him), he was only able to get a few hours of sleep and really needed a nap before he left for his job that evening.  So my running plans were foiled, and I let it throw me into a tired funk that lasted all evening and ended with me eating too much before bed and reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows until far too late in the night.

So today is a new day, and I plan to shake it off, and go home and do my regular weight lifting.  In previous healthy lifestyle changes I’ve been on, this is about the time that the new car smell starts to wear off and I find that I am easily discouraged.  But I’m trying to remember my mantra: “I’m doing this to Practice Wellness.”.  It really does help me shift my attention away from the feelings of Conquer!  Battle!  Push!  Deprive! and more to a place where I can think “what can I do for myself today to make me feel healthy and proud?”.  I have a feeling that this is where I have fallen aside in the past, for me it’s all about the intention behind the things I’m changing.  If I don’t really stand behind the intentions, I’m not going to get very far!

So tonight I hope that I can get through my workout, feel good that I did it, and then see what else I can do to take care of myself while also being a mom and wife.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck getting back on track! I have a lot of small setbacks as well, but I’ve found it best not to dwell on them and instead focus on starting fresh the next day. Keep it up 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks 🙂 You’re right, just let it go and keep moving! After work I came home and did my strength workout, and I think later after the boys are in bed I’m going to do some p.m. pilates.

      Reply

  2. Awesome husband for supporting you in this practice! You are right – it is a practice and doesn’t have to be perfect. And, in case you think you are slipping, I think they make air freshener in the new car scent. 😀

    Reply

  3. Posted by Wendy on September 11, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    LOVE your mantra!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

