Today’s Running Progress!! 10 minutes faster :)

This morning I woke up extra early because I wanted to go for a run before the kids woke up.  I knew that it had been about a week since I had time to get a run in, and I really wanted to get out there before the afternoon heat came – one less reason to have an excuse to stay home and sit on the couch.  So I dragged myself out of bed just as the sun was coming up, and drove to a nearby lake armed with my water bottle and my HRM.

Here’s something I found out: it’s so beautiful outside in the early morning!  There was a fog hanging over the lake that hadn’t been burned away by the sun yet, and it was just me, the rabbits, and the early morning birds on the path.  I started out with a fast walk, for around 3 minutes.  Then  did something I haven’t been able to do until today – I ran all the way around the lake!  It was a big deal for me.  Normally I run for 5 or 6 minutes and then walk for a minute, then more running…it usually means I have 3 or 4 walk run groups before I get all the way around.  So for me to get around it in one run in 12 minutes made me feel really good 🙂  I went around the lake a second time, and on this lap I did have one walk slow down.  But only one!  It was a really good feeling, and it gives me a little more confidence that I’ll be able to handle running in a couple of 5k’s coming up this fall.

When it was all over, I checked my watch and it said I had done my workout in 29.40 minutes.  I couldn’t believe it!  In the past, two laps around the lake has taken me 4o minutes or more.  I stretched out by the picnic tables under the pavilion, and I felt good!  Not super wiped out, no nausea (like the first time when I went around the lake and thought I was going to hurl in the bushes), and still in the early morning quiet.

There’s something to this waking up early stuff!

The only thing I haven’t quite figured out yet is how to handle eating before I go out.  This morning I had a banana, almond milk and some oats – I wanted to make sure I had some carbs for energy – and for the first lap around I could kind of feel it sitting in my stomach.  What do people eat in the morning before they work out?  I can’t imagine running on an empty stomach.

So now it’s only 10, and I’ve already worked out, showered, cleaned and made a super tasty quinoa salad!  Yay for early mornings 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wendy on September 11, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I love early morning workouts! Sometimes, I’ll go for a run without eating anything, but for the most part, I do eat something. I try to eat simple carbs (one of my favorite pre-run meals is grapefruit and V8 juice). As much as I love oatmeal, I can’t eat it for breakfast before a run — it always sits like a rock in my gut. I need to start eating oatmeal for lunch!!!

    Nice job on the running, by the way. With Keenan starting pre-school this week, I’m looking forward to getting my running game back on!!!

    Reply

  2. I think you’re right, no more oats before a run! Maybe just the banana next time with some juice. I have really learned to love eating raw oats with almond milk…kind of like granola but not so hard on the teeth 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

