Yeah, my ass is jiggling.

There was a point about a year ago that the thought of running within 200 feet of another person, car, or opinionated dog would have kept me indoors, wishing that I was the kind of person who was brave enough to run in public without turning into a self-conscious nutjob.

I’m not really sure what happened, but I seem to be over it now.  Maybe it was running in a real race and seeing that it wasn’t completely populated with men who seemed to be made up of only muscle and nylon shorts.  Maybe it was the bit of weight I lost and realizing I look kind of okay in my lycra running pants (and it didn’t hurt that my husband was totally okay with having me wear them around the house).  Maybe it was just that I liked being out there so much that I figured anyone who was going to judge my-less-than-perfect body could just suck it.  Accomplishing something, even just one of my regular weekly runs, is a real boost to anyone’s day.  So what if there are still jiggly parts of me on display for all the cars passing by?  I think I managed to get over being self-conscious because I was running, and they were riding.  In something with an engine.  And protective windows.  And a heater.

No matter how many parts of me have more jiggle than firm muscle, I’m still out there dealing with the wind pushing me back, the sun shining in my eyes, my stash of kleenex balled up in my shirt pocket, and getting up and over those damn hills.  So now when they drive by, instead of imagining all the shitty things I used to think they were thinking about me, I imagine they are thinking God, it’s cold out today. That is a really big hill.  I wonder if she has been running up the whole thing?

And yes.  Yes I have.

7 responses to this post.

  1. It’s always refreshing to overcome self made fears.

    Reply

    • Yep. It’s nice when it happens on it’s own, too! No more forcing myself to “get through” something! I run, I have a good time, I go home. 🙂

      Reply

  2. I know exactly how you feel, for some reason I used to feel the same way. And similarly, I just got over it for some reason. Now I am comfortable running on roads and streets, and it feels great when hear me pounding the pavement behind them, they politely ‘move out of the way’ and usually offer a nod of encouragement.

    Reply

    • Yes, Darcie! I love that part, too. One of the best parts about getting over running in front of people is when I get to run past them. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Posted by Frank G. on November 7, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Good for you Hope! Sounds like this running and you are conquering
    more than just a few hills! Your a real inspiration lady, makes me want to go out and take a run/brisk walk myself.
    That race must have been exciting and you must be proud that you even began racing so soon.
    Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing…..FG

    Reply

  4. Posted by sweetopiagirl on November 27, 2011 at 7:20 am

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

